Guest Reviews

We thought we would share some reviews from our lovely guests


Top Class Autumn break

26 October 2019 C. Chammings

This property is simply stunning. The location is amazing and the finish of the renovation is top class . Louise was easily contactable when required and the whole break surpassed our expectations. Highly recommended and we will be returning


Amazing location right on the waters edge

September 2019 David

Amazing location right on the waters edge, with great views and walks along the coastline,Lou the host was very helpful, would definitely return


What an absolute stunning place this is!.

July 2019 Dan

What an absolute stunning place this is! Would 100% recommend to anyone who is seeking a nice relaxing time away! The local amenities are great in both Fowey and Polruan. Lou was also superb assisting me with any queries that I had, this without doubt added to our experiences. We will most definitely be returning!


The best holiday house we've ever had!.

10 July 2019 A. Berry

Great beds and living space and lovely kitchen to use. Excellent location and stunning views. Louise (who manages the house) was so helpful before and during our holiday. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you SO much for all your help with our booking and while we were there. You were so nice to deal with and the house really was a stunning place to stay!


Wonderful time spent with friends.

July 2019 K. Frood

Wonderful time spent here with friends. Amazing location with stunning views across to Fowey and down the estuary. Feels like a five star hotel - very comfy beds. The kitchen is so well equipped and cooking looking at that view is a delight. Enjoyed taking the little ferry to Fowey and going on coastal walks discovering new pubs


Gorgeous house in stunning location.

31 August 2019 Ian. S


Wonderful!.

17 August 2019 D. Ingham

Everything we hoped it would be and more! I hope to return another time!


Fantastic location, lovely little town and easy access to Fowey.

27 July 2019 S O'Meara

Luxurious property, renovated to an extremely high standard.


We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.

2 June 2018 A. Kemueller, Germany

We had a really wonderful week and enjoyed The Old Watch House very much. Congratulations to the owners, they really made it very warm with a wonderful design. We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.


Exeptional location overlooking Fowey harbour

6 April 2018 M.S, Hertfordshire

Hi Lou , We had a fantastic time at the Old Watch house. It’s a stunning property set in an exceptional location overlooking Fowey harbour. There was lots to do and see without getting in the car and the boat hire ideal and lots of fun over the week, we will certainly be back.


Very impressive and luxurious

30 March 2018 G.F, Yorkshire

I just wanted to say a very big thank you to you for all your help and assistance re our wonderful stay at The Old Watch House. You are very kind, friendly and helpful and you made the booking process etc very easy and straight forward. All the detailed information that you provide on the website makes everything very simple to understand and we loved the suggestions re boat hire, walks, Sainsbury’s deliveries, car parking, map of Polruan, Spa membership, restaurants and pubs etc. The Old Watch House is very impressive and luxurious – every little detail had been thought of to ensure our stay was amazing. Beautifully clean, the welcome pack (especially the bottles of wine) was a delight, especially as we arrived around 10pm. The house was very warm and cosy and very relaxing, and was made that extra bit special by the amazing views over the river to Fowey from just about every room. Thank you every so much.


Felt very relaxed and at home

20 January 2018 Kate

We’ve had a lovely week in Polruan, the house really is great and we felt very relaxed and at home which is just we want when we go away.


Perfect location,wonderful view & very comfortable

22 December 2017 Kirsty

We had a fabulous stay at The Old Watchouse, it’s a perfect location, wonderful view & very comfortable property with everything we could need. We loved it (so did the other family) and would definitely recommend the property and return again ourselves.


Stunning home from home

23 September 2017 Beverley G

After a minor hiccup with the cleaners when we arrived and a quick phone call to Lou who immediately sorted the problem, we had the most amazing time at The Old Watch House. We arrived in the evening and were immediately wowed by the cleanliness and tasteful interior of the house... from the ultra modern kitchen and all its appliances to the luxurious bedrooms, bathrooms, bed linens, towels, sofa’s tv’s... I could go on. As we’d arrived in the dark, we retired to bed with a sense of excitement at the outside view that lay ahead in the morning.... we were not disappointed. The view was stunning and the sound of the lapping water outside the open lounge doors whilst having breakfast was so relaxing. It’s still very much a working estuary and we were fascinated all week by the comings and goings of all manner of vessels from luxurious yachts coming in to moor, to large container ships going to the China clay works further up the estuary... every day was different. The gardens have been well thought out with various seating areas, all with terrific views but best of all, is the most idyllic summer house/extra accommodation which has been decorated to match the high standard to that of the house... it even has its own kitchen and log burner. The Old Watch House is tucked away in a very quiet exclusive spot in Polruan and the walk down to the foot ferry is a gentle 10 minute walk... our little Jack Russell who we took with us loved his daily walks there. If there is a downside to this place it is parking. Parking spaces with a house is a rarety in Polruan but we did get a parking permit included in the weekly cost which allowed 1 car to park free of charge up at St Saviours car park on top of the hill, so on days when we wanted to venture out it would mean a steep walk up the hill to get to the car. However, this didn’t put us off, as the position of the house far out weighed this... in any case, the walk did us good after all the lovely lunches and evening meals we’d had in the week. All in all a stunning luxurious house well worth a visit... we’ll definitely be back.


Superb property with stunning views

16 September 2017 John W

Great location with absolutely stunning views. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds - will be revisiting in the future and recommending to friends


Wonderful house over looking the harbour

27 May 2017 5 Stars awarded

We hired the whole property and it is very luxurious, with beautiful view, furniture linens and rooms. After unloading the car and driving back up the steep hill to the town car park, the rest of the family walked down the hill to the house. No car access within 100 yards. It is set into the hill and accessed via beautiful courtyard. The annexe leading off from here, with its own bedroom, kitchen sitting area and bathroom. Entering the house into the hall are 2 beautiful ensuite double bedrooms, with stunning views. Down stairs into the open plan living dining and kitchen area. The master bedroom, dressing and ensuite located off here. The house is very high tec, with lots of gadgets. Extremely well thought out. Watching the world go by from any area is stunning. We hired the boat for the week and left it at the pontoon as easier to load from there. Polruan is very quiet with 2 good pubs a cafe and a few shops. Fowey is bustling and worth a visit. Were lucky enough to see the cruise ship come into the harbour. Reaching Polruan is through a lot of narrow roads, unless that was my sat nav! Downside was not suitable at all for mobility issues. Would stay again.


Facebook

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • !! Christmas Special Offer !! Due to a cancellation The Old Watch House is available over Christmas until 27th December 4 nights min stay - from £75 per person per night - based on 6 people Can accommodate 8 guests and is Dog Friendly . . #cornwall #christmas #christmasbreak #luxury #selfcatering #holiday #vacation #seaview #watersedge #fowey #polruan #chill #familytime #boatlife

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "!! Christmas Special Offer !! Due to a cancellation The Old Watch House is available over Christmas until 27th December

4 nights min stay - from £75 per person per night - based on 6 people
Can accommodate 8 guests and is Dog Friendly .
.
#cornwall #christmas #christmasbreak #luxury #selfcatering #holiday #vacation #seaview #watersedge #fowey #polruan #chill #familytime #boatlife"
    11
    1
  • We are getting very excited here! The Fireworks are fabulous! Grab a warming drink and watch from the Quay - always a great atmosphere ❤️ #Repost @foweychamberofcommerce ・・・ @foweychristmasmarket starts TONIGHT! The market opens at 5.30, Santa arrives at 6.30 by boat and the light switch on and fireworks are at 7pm. Don’t miss it, it’s going to be BRILLIANT! You can find fabulous Fowey Christmas cards in this lovely design from @artistruthtaylor in the Webb Street marquee. #foweychristmasmarket #fowey #cornwall #christmasmarket #christmasincornwall #cornishchristmas #holidaysarecoming #christmasshopping #buylocal #supportlocalartists #independenttraders #supportsmallbusiness #shopsmall #festivefeels #visitfowey #lovefowey #santa #fireworks #christmastree #christmaslights #fireworks

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We are getting very excited here! 
The Fireworks are fabulous! Grab a warming drink and watch from the Quay - always a great atmosphere ❤️ #Repost @foweychamberofcommerce ・・・
@foweychristmasmarket starts TONIGHT! 
The market opens at 5.30, Santa arrives at 6.30 by boat and the light switch on and fireworks are at 7pm. 
Don’t miss it, it’s going to be BRILLIANT! 
You can find fabulous Fowey Christmas cards in this lovely design from @artistruthtaylor in the Webb Street marquee.

#foweychristmasmarket #fowey #cornwall #christmasmarket #christmasincornwall #cornishchristmas #holidaysarecoming #christmasshopping #buylocal #supportlocalartists #independenttraders #supportsmallbusiness #shopsmall #festivefeels #visitfowey #lovefowey #santa #fireworks #christmastree #christmaslights #fireworks"
    14
    0
  • We get the most glorious sunsets in Cornwall! Truly Magical! These views seriously warms the Soul ❤️⚓️⛵️ #polruan #fowey #cornwall #sea #sunset #chill #soulfood #holidayhome #vacation #luxury #tranquil #beachlife #water #familytime #holiday #timeout

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We get the most glorious sunsets in Cornwall!
Truly Magical!
These views seriously warms the Soul ❤️⚓️⛵️ #polruan #fowey #cornwall #sea #sunset #chill #soulfood #holidayhome #vacation #luxury #tranquil #beachlife #water #familytime #holiday #timeout"
    25
    1
  • Before or after your visit to the wonderful @foweychristmasmarket drop in to @the_wine_store_charlestown for some of this! Cornwall is a real foody haven at any time of the year, but especially at Christmas! We are so lucky ❤️🙏 #Repost @the_wine_store_charlestown ・・・ Two of our favourites.... Both will be included in our port and cheese tasting this Saturday! 🍷 🧀 . . . You can guarantee we are the place to be for a cheeky cheeseboard and glass of port! Drop in for a taste this Saturday 2-5pm #thewinestore #charlestown #cornwall #staustellbay #sunshine #port #porto #dropintasting #saturdayvibes #cheeseboard #cheeseandwine #cheeselovers #christmasiscoming #christmasgifts #winegifts #wineshop #winelover #winetasting #weekendtreats #winebar #winterwarmer @curds_croust @quintadocrasto

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Before or after your visit to the wonderful @foweychristmasmarket  drop in to @the_wine_store_charlestown for some of this!

Cornwall is a real foody haven at any time of the year, but especially at Christmas! 
We are so lucky ❤️🙏 #Repost @the_wine_store_charlestown ・・・
Two of our favourites.... Both will be included in our port and cheese tasting this Saturday! 🍷 🧀
.
.
.
You can guarantee we are the place to be for a cheeky cheeseboard and glass of port!
Drop in for a taste this Saturday 2-5pm
#thewinestore #charlestown #cornwall #staustellbay #sunshine #port #porto #dropintasting #saturdayvibes #cheeseboard #cheeseandwine #cheeselovers #christmasiscoming #christmasgifts #winegifts #wineshop #winelover #winetasting #weekendtreats #winebar #winterwarmer @curds_croust @quintadocrasto"
    14
    0
  • Fowey Christmas Market happening this weekend! We are very excited ❤️🤶🏼 it’s always such a great weekend #Repost @foweychristmasmarket ・・・ Don't forget Father Christmas 🎅 will be arriving by tugboat at approx. 6.30pm on Friday 6th December in Fowey to start the light parade through the town to the church for the firework display! 💥 Fowey Christmas Market - 6th - 8th December! 🎄🎁 foweychristmasmarket.co.uk/whats-on

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Fowey Christmas Market happening this weekend! We are very excited ❤️🤶🏼 it’s always such a great weekend 
#Repost @foweychristmasmarket ・・・
Don't forget Father Christmas 🎅 will be arriving by tugboat at approx. 6.30pm on Friday 6th December in Fowey to start the light parade through the town to the church for the firework display! 💥

Fowey Christmas Market - 6th - 8th December! 🎄🎁 foweychristmasmarket.co.uk/whats-on"
    4
    0
  • We ❤️ The Lugger Inn Highly recommended! #Repost @luggerpolruan ・・・ You can’t beat homemade fish cakes - on the menu today - - - - #southcornwall #foweyharbour #sustainableseafood #homemadefood #publife #harbourlife @matthewstevensfish @chefstableware #eatfresh #winterfood #theluggerpolruan

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We ❤️ The Lugger Inn 
Highly recommended!

#Repost @luggerpolruan ・・・
You can’t beat homemade fish cakes - on the menu today -
-
-
-
#southcornwall #foweyharbour #sustainableseafood #homemadefood #publife #harbourlife @matthewstevensfish @chefstableware #eatfresh #winterfood #theluggerpolruan"
    6
    2
  • Wow!! #Repost @shipwreckcharlestown It's wisdom Wednesday! The rough seas and rugged cliffs surrounding Cornwall's coastline make for some difficult sailing conditions, head over to our latest news page to uncover the Top 10 Tales of Cornish Shipwrecks. #Linkinbio #Charlestown #Cornwall #LoveCornwall #Daysout #VisitCornwall #Daysoutwiththekids #VisitEngland #BestDaysOutCornwall #UK #maritime #sailing

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Wow!! #Repost @shipwreckcharlestown

It's wisdom Wednesday! The rough seas and rugged cliffs surrounding Cornwall's coastline make for some difficult sailing conditions, head over to our latest news page to uncover the Top 10 Tales of Cornish Shipwrecks. #Linkinbio #Charlestown #Cornwall #LoveCornwall #Daysout #VisitCornwall #Daysoutwiththekids #VisitEngland #BestDaysOutCornwall #UK #maritime #sailing"
    6
    0
  • Luxury Self Catering Holiday Home available this Christmas 🎄 Dog Friendly 🐾. next to a little beach and walking distance to two great pubs. 🎄 What more could you wish for this Christmas! • • #dogfriendly #cornwall #luxuryholidayhome #familychristmas #watersedge #sea #beach #pub #holiday

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Luxury Self Catering Holiday Home available this Christmas 🎄
Dog Friendly 🐾. next to a little beach and walking distance to two great pubs.
🎄

What more could you wish for this Christmas! •
•
#dogfriendly #cornwall #luxuryholidayhome #familychristmas #watersedge #sea #beach #pub #holiday"
    5
    0
  • @foweychristmasmarket coming soon! 6th - 8th December 🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄 We love this picture from @meadowviewguidedhikes of one of the lovely @artistruthtaylor beautiful pictures of Fowey! 🎄🎅🏻 You can visit @meadowviewguidedhikes on @lanticbay stand on Town Quay from 6th - 8th December! ⭐️ Not long until the Town Quay marquee will be there in front of the King of Prussia ❤️

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "@foweychristmasmarket coming soon!
6th - 8th December 🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄
We love this picture from @meadowviewguidedhikes of one of the lovely @artistruthtaylor beautiful pictures of Fowey! 🎄🎅🏻 You can visit @meadowviewguidedhikes on @lanticbay stand on Town Quay from 6th - 8th December! ⭐️ Not long until the Town Quay marquee will be there in front of the King of Prussia ❤️"
    13
    0
  • If you’re in Cornwall make sure you try the amazing ice cream from [email protected] ❤️🍦 In Charlestown by the Harbour . #icecream #cornwall #charlestown

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "If you’re in Cornwall make sure you try the amazing ice cream from t@tallshipscreamery ❤️🍦 In Charlestown by the Harbour .
#icecream #cornwall #charlestown"
    9
    0