Guest Reviews

We thought we would share some reviews from our lovely guests


Top Class Autumn break

26 October 2019 C. Chammings

This property is simply stunning. The location is amazing and the finish of the renovation is top class . Louise was easily contactable when required and the whole break surpassed our expectations. Highly recommended and we will be returning


Amazing location right on the waters edge

September 2019 David

Amazing location right on the waters edge, with great views and walks along the coastline,Lou the host was very helpful, would definitely return


What an absolute stunning place this is!.

July 2019 Dan

What an absolute stunning place this is! Would 100% recommend to anyone who is seeking a nice relaxing time away! The local amenities are great in both Fowey and Polruan. Lou was also superb assisting me with any queries that I had, this without doubt added to our experiences. We will most definitely be returning!


The best holiday house we've ever had!.

10 July 2019 A. Berry

Great beds and living space and lovely kitchen to use. Excellent location and stunning views. Louise (who manages the house) was so helpful before and during our holiday. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you SO much for all your help with our booking and while we were there. You were so nice to deal with and the house really was a stunning place to stay!


Wonderful time spent with friends.

July 2019 K. Frood

Wonderful time spent here with friends. Amazing location with stunning views across to Fowey and down the estuary. Feels like a five star hotel - very comfy beds. The kitchen is so well equipped and cooking looking at that view is a delight. Enjoyed taking the little ferry to Fowey and going on coastal walks discovering new pubs


Gorgeous house in stunning location.

31 August 2019 Ian. S


Wonderful!.

17 August 2019 D. Ingham

Everything we hoped it would be and more! I hope to return another time!


Fantastic location, lovely little town and easy access to Fowey.

27 July 2019 S O'Meara

Luxurious property, renovated to an extremely high standard.


We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.

2 June 2018 A. Kemueller, Germany

We had a really wonderful week and enjoyed The Old Watch House very much. Congratulations to the owners, they really made it very warm with a wonderful design. We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.


Exeptional location overlooking Fowey harbour

6 April 2018 M.S, Hertfordshire

Hi Lou , We had a fantastic time at the Old Watch house. It’s a stunning property set in an exceptional location overlooking Fowey harbour. There was lots to do and see without getting in the car and the boat hire ideal and lots of fun over the week, we will certainly be back.


Very impressive and luxurious

30 March 2018 G.F, Yorkshire

I just wanted to say a very big thank you to you for all your help and assistance re our wonderful stay at The Old Watch House. You are very kind, friendly and helpful and you made the booking process etc very easy and straight forward. All the detailed information that you provide on the website makes everything very simple to understand and we loved the suggestions re boat hire, walks, Sainsbury’s deliveries, car parking, map of Polruan, Spa membership, restaurants and pubs etc. The Old Watch House is very impressive and luxurious – every little detail had been thought of to ensure our stay was amazing. Beautifully clean, the welcome pack (especially the bottles of wine) was a delight, especially as we arrived around 10pm. The house was very warm and cosy and very relaxing, and was made that extra bit special by the amazing views over the river to Fowey from just about every room. Thank you every so much.


Felt very relaxed and at home

20 January 2018 Kate

We’ve had a lovely week in Polruan, the house really is great and we felt very relaxed and at home which is just we want when we go away.


Perfect location,wonderful view & very comfortable

22 December 2017 Kirsty

We had a fabulous stay at The Old Watchouse, it’s a perfect location, wonderful view & very comfortable property with everything we could need. We loved it (so did the other family) and would definitely recommend the property and return again ourselves.


Stunning home from home

23 September 2017 Beverley G

After a minor hiccup with the cleaners when we arrived and a quick phone call to Lou who immediately sorted the problem, we had the most amazing time at The Old Watch House. We arrived in the evening and were immediately wowed by the cleanliness and tasteful interior of the house... from the ultra modern kitchen and all its appliances to the luxurious bedrooms, bathrooms, bed linens, towels, sofa’s tv’s... I could go on. As we’d arrived in the dark, we retired to bed with a sense of excitement at the outside view that lay ahead in the morning.... we were not disappointed. The view was stunning and the sound of the lapping water outside the open lounge doors whilst having breakfast was so relaxing. It’s still very much a working estuary and we were fascinated all week by the comings and goings of all manner of vessels from luxurious yachts coming in to moor, to large container ships going to the China clay works further up the estuary... every day was different. The gardens have been well thought out with various seating areas, all with terrific views but best of all, is the most idyllic summer house/extra accommodation which has been decorated to match the high standard to that of the house... it even has its own kitchen and log burner. The Old Watch House is tucked away in a very quiet exclusive spot in Polruan and the walk down to the foot ferry is a gentle 10 minute walk... our little Jack Russell who we took with us loved his daily walks there. If there is a downside to this place it is parking. Parking spaces with a house is a rarety in Polruan but we did get a parking permit included in the weekly cost which allowed 1 car to park free of charge up at St Saviours car park on top of the hill, so on days when we wanted to venture out it would mean a steep walk up the hill to get to the car. However, this didn’t put us off, as the position of the house far out weighed this... in any case, the walk did us good after all the lovely lunches and evening meals we’d had in the week. All in all a stunning luxurious house well worth a visit... we’ll definitely be back.


Superb property with stunning views

16 September 2017 John W

Great location with absolutely stunning views. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds - will be revisiting in the future and recommending to friends


Wonderful house over looking the harbour

27 May 2017 5 Stars awarded

We hired the whole property and it is very luxurious, with beautiful view, furniture linens and rooms. After unloading the car and driving back up the steep hill to the town car park, the rest of the family walked down the hill to the house. No car access within 100 yards. It is set into the hill and accessed via beautiful courtyard. The annexe leading off from here, with its own bedroom, kitchen sitting area and bathroom. Entering the house into the hall are 2 beautiful ensuite double bedrooms, with stunning views. Down stairs into the open plan living dining and kitchen area. The master bedroom, dressing and ensuite located off here. The house is very high tec, with lots of gadgets. Extremely well thought out. Watching the world go by from any area is stunning. We hired the boat for the week and left it at the pontoon as easier to load from there. Polruan is very quiet with 2 good pubs a cafe and a few shops. Fowey is bustling and worth a visit. Were lucky enough to see the cruise ship come into the harbour. Reaching Polruan is through a lot of narrow roads, unless that was my sat nav! Downside was not suitable at all for mobility issues. Would stay again.


Facebook

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • We are so lucky the @luggerpolruan is less than a minutes walk from the house, although maybe our guests will need to walk the long way round to burn off these pies! ❤️😅 #Repost @luggerpolruan ・・・ It’s Pie Week and we love pies. Even more reason to try our homemade steak, ale and mushroom pie. Part of our delicious new menu. Monday motivation ✅ - - - - #britishpieweek #pubfood #freshfood #homemade #properpub #southcornwall #theluggerpolruan #bestpubinpolruan #polruan #properpie #winterwarmer #justaddgravy #fireside #comfortfood

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We are so lucky the @luggerpolruan  is less than a minutes walk from the house, although maybe our guests will need to walk the long way round to burn off these pies! ❤️😅 #Repost @luggerpolruan ・・・
It’s Pie Week and we love pies. Even more reason to try our homemade steak, ale and mushroom pie. Part of our delicious new menu. Monday motivation ✅ -
-
-
-
#britishpieweek #pubfood #freshfood #homemade #properpub #southcornwall #theluggerpolruan #bestpubinpolruan #polruan #properpie #winterwarmer #justaddgravy #fireside #comfortfood"
    11
    0
  • We are so excited for this!! #Repost @therumsailor ・・・ So the big news in the land of The Rum Sailor is that we are on the move. Not very far as it happens but we will have a new home from the beginning of April (ish). More space, more seats and the absolute luxury of running water and space to sit down inside.........we sure know how to treat you guys and girls. We are doing a bit (bloody big bit really) of a refurb job on the bonkers new space and are really looking forward to opening up again in the Eastern Bloc!

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We are so excited for this!! #Repost @therumsailor ・・・
So the big news in the land of The Rum Sailor is that we are on the move. Not very far as it happens but we will have a new home from the beginning of April (ish). More space, more seats and the absolute luxury of running water and space to sit down inside.........we sure know how to treat you guys and girls. We are doing a bit (bloody big bit really) of a refurb job on the bonkers new space and are really looking forward to opening up again in the Eastern Bloc!"
    9
    0
  • We have a 3 night stay available in March from just £245 per night! Arriving Friday 20th and departing Monday 23rd Who’d like to take advantage of this great opportunity? . . #cornwall #holidays #cornwallcottages #coastalbreaks #seaside #vacation #fowey #polruan #familytime #weekendbreak #selfcatering #holidayhome

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We have a 3 night stay available in March from just £245 per night!

Arriving Friday 20th and departing Monday 23rd

Who’d like to take advantage of this great opportunity? .
.
#cornwall #holidays #cornwallcottages #coastalbreaks #seaside #vacation #fowey #polruan #familytime #weekendbreak #selfcatering #holidayhome"
    14
    2
  • The views from The Old Watch House are gorgeous this morning.... think we were the only ones up! ❤️🛶⛵️☀️ . . #cornwall #polruan #fowey #water #sunrise #holiday #vacation #getawayfromitall #coastal #seagull #relax #seaviews #luxury #selfcatering #holidayhome

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "The views from The Old Watch House are gorgeous this morning.... think we were the only ones up!
❤️🛶⛵️☀️ .
.
#cornwall #polruan #fowey #water #sunrise #holiday #vacation #getawayfromitall #coastal #seagull #relax #seaviews #luxury #selfcatering #holidayhome"
    13
    0
  • Thankyou Laura 🙏 #Repost @surfersagainstsewage ・・・ People did incredible things to fight the plastic wave in 2019. #SurfersAgainstSewage rep Laura Sanderson who swam 26k from Snowdon to the sea to highlight plastic pollution in rivers. #SAS2019⠀ ⠀ Her epic swim was part of our biggest #BigSpringBeachClean ever & she even joined community-organised cleans along her route. Laura also collected water samples throughout the swim to be tested for microplastic at Bangor University during the swim last April.⠀ ⠀ We can’t wait to be inspired by the amazing things our volunteers do for oceans in 2020. Be part of the movement to protect oceans, become a SAS member now at link in our bio.⠀ ⠀ #Plastic #plasticfree #plasticpollution #waronplastic

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Thankyou Laura 🙏

#Repost @surfersagainstsewage ・・・
People did incredible things to fight the plastic wave in 2019. #SurfersAgainstSewage rep Laura Sanderson who swam 26k from Snowdon to the sea to highlight plastic pollution in rivers. #SAS2019⠀
⠀
Her epic swim was part of our biggest #BigSpringBeachClean ever & she even joined community-organised cleans along her route. Laura also collected water samples throughout the swim to be tested for microplastic at Bangor University during the swim last April.⠀
⠀
We can’t wait to be inspired by the amazing things our volunteers do for oceans in 2020. Be part of the movement to protect oceans, become a SAS member now at link in our bio.⠀
⠀
#Plastic #plasticfree #plasticpollution #waronplastic"
    24
    0
  • !! Christmas Special Offer !! Due to a cancellation The Old Watch House is available over Christmas until 27th December 4 nights min stay - from £75 per person per night - based on 6 people Can accommodate 8 guests and is Dog Friendly . . #cornwall #christmas #christmasbreak #luxury #selfcatering #holiday #vacation #seaview #watersedge #fowey #polruan #chill #familytime #boatlife

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "!! Christmas Special Offer !! Due to a cancellation The Old Watch House is available over Christmas until 27th December

4 nights min stay - from £75 per person per night - based on 6 people
Can accommodate 8 guests and is Dog Friendly .
.
#cornwall #christmas #christmasbreak #luxury #selfcatering #holiday #vacation #seaview #watersedge #fowey #polruan #chill #familytime #boatlife"
    11
    1
  • We are getting very excited here! The Fireworks are fabulous! Grab a warming drink and watch from the Quay - always a great atmosphere ❤️ #Repost @foweychamberofcommerce ・・・ @foweychristmasmarket starts TONIGHT! The market opens at 5.30, Santa arrives at 6.30 by boat and the light switch on and fireworks are at 7pm. Don’t miss it, it’s going to be BRILLIANT! You can find fabulous Fowey Christmas cards in this lovely design from @artistruthtaylor in the Webb Street marquee. #foweychristmasmarket #fowey #cornwall #christmasmarket #christmasincornwall #cornishchristmas #holidaysarecoming #christmasshopping #buylocal #supportlocalartists #independenttraders #supportsmallbusiness #shopsmall #festivefeels #visitfowey #lovefowey #santa #fireworks #christmastree #christmaslights #fireworks

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We are getting very excited here! 
The Fireworks are fabulous! Grab a warming drink and watch from the Quay - always a great atmosphere ❤️ #Repost @foweychamberofcommerce ・・・
@foweychristmasmarket starts TONIGHT! 
The market opens at 5.30, Santa arrives at 6.30 by boat and the light switch on and fireworks are at 7pm. 
Don’t miss it, it’s going to be BRILLIANT! 
You can find fabulous Fowey Christmas cards in this lovely design from @artistruthtaylor in the Webb Street marquee.

#foweychristmasmarket #fowey #cornwall #christmasmarket #christmasincornwall #cornishchristmas #holidaysarecoming #christmasshopping #buylocal #supportlocalartists #independenttraders #supportsmallbusiness #shopsmall #festivefeels #visitfowey #lovefowey #santa #fireworks #christmastree #christmaslights #fireworks"
    14
    0
  • We get the most glorious sunsets in Cornwall! Truly Magical! These views seriously warms the Soul ❤️⚓️⛵️ #polruan #fowey #cornwall #sea #sunset #chill #soulfood #holidayhome #vacation #luxury #tranquil #beachlife #water #familytime #holiday #timeout

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "We get the most glorious sunsets in Cornwall!
Truly Magical!
These views seriously warms the Soul ❤️⚓️⛵️ #polruan #fowey #cornwall #sea #sunset #chill #soulfood #holidayhome #vacation #luxury #tranquil #beachlife #water #familytime #holiday #timeout"
    25
    1
  • Before or after your visit to the wonderful @foweychristmasmarket drop in to @the_wine_store_charlestown for some of this! Cornwall is a real foody haven at any time of the year, but especially at Christmas! We are so lucky ❤️🙏 #Repost @the_wine_store_charlestown ・・・ Two of our favourites.... Both will be included in our port and cheese tasting this Saturday! 🍷 🧀 . . . You can guarantee we are the place to be for a cheeky cheeseboard and glass of port! Drop in for a taste this Saturday 2-5pm #thewinestore #charlestown #cornwall #staustellbay #sunshine #port #porto #dropintasting #saturdayvibes #cheeseboard #cheeseandwine #cheeselovers #christmasiscoming #christmasgifts #winegifts #wineshop #winelover #winetasting #weekendtreats #winebar #winterwarmer @curds_croust @quintadocrasto

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Before or after your visit to the wonderful @foweychristmasmarket  drop in to @the_wine_store_charlestown for some of this!

Cornwall is a real foody haven at any time of the year, but especially at Christmas! 
We are so lucky ❤️🙏 #Repost @the_wine_store_charlestown ・・・
Two of our favourites.... Both will be included in our port and cheese tasting this Saturday! 🍷 🧀
.
.
.
You can guarantee we are the place to be for a cheeky cheeseboard and glass of port!
Drop in for a taste this Saturday 2-5pm
#thewinestore #charlestown #cornwall #staustellbay #sunshine #port #porto #dropintasting #saturdayvibes #cheeseboard #cheeseandwine #cheeselovers #christmasiscoming #christmasgifts #winegifts #wineshop #winelover #winetasting #weekendtreats #winebar #winterwarmer @curds_croust @quintadocrasto"
    15
    0
  • Fowey Christmas Market happening this weekend! We are very excited ❤️🤶🏼 it’s always such a great weekend #Repost @foweychristmasmarket ・・・ Don't forget Father Christmas 🎅 will be arriving by tugboat at approx. 6.30pm on Friday 6th December in Fowey to start the light parade through the town to the church for the firework display! 💥 Fowey Christmas Market - 6th - 8th December! 🎄🎁 foweychristmasmarket.co.uk/whats-on

    theoldwatchhousepolruan: "Fowey Christmas Market happening this weekend! We are very excited ❤️🤶🏼 it’s always such a great weekend 
#Repost @foweychristmasmarket ・・・
Don't forget Father Christmas 🎅 will be arriving by tugboat at approx. 6.30pm on Friday 6th December in Fowey to start the light parade through the town to the church for the firework display! 💥

Fowey Christmas Market - 6th - 8th December! 🎄🎁 foweychristmasmarket.co.uk/whats-on"
    4
    0