Guest Reviews

We thought we would share some reviews from our lovely guests


We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.

2 June 2018 A. Kemueller, Germany

We had a really wonderful week and enjoyed The Old Watch House very much. Congratulations to the owners, they really made it very warm with a wonderful design. We really enjoyed the big kitchen and the view.


Exeptional location overlooking Fowey harbour

6 April 2018 M.S, Hertfordshire

Hi Lou , We had a fantastic time at the Old Watch house. It’s a stunning property set in an exceptional location overlooking Fowey harbour. There was lots to do and see without getting in the car and the boat hire ideal and lots of fun over the week, we will certainly be back.


Very impressive and luxurious

30 March 2018 G.F, Yorkshire

I just wanted to say a very big thank you to you for all your help and assistance re our wonderful stay at The Old Watch House. You are very kind, friendly and helpful and you made the booking process etc very easy and straight forward. All the detailed information that you provide on the website makes everything very simple to understand and we loved the suggestions re boat hire, walks, Sainsbury’s deliveries, car parking, map of Polruan, Spa membership, restaurants and pubs etc. The Old Watch House is very impressive and luxurious – every little detail had been thought of to ensure our stay was amazing. Beautifully clean, the welcome pack (especially the bottles of wine) was a delight, especially as we arrived around 10pm. The house was very warm and cosy and very relaxing, and was made that extra bit special by the amazing views over the river to Fowey from just about every room. Thank you every so much.


Felt very relaxed and at home

20 January 2018 Kate

We’ve had a lovely week in Polruan, the house really is great and we felt very relaxed and at home which is just we want when we go away.


Perfect location,wonderful view & very comfortable

22 December 2017 Kirsty

We had a fabulous stay at The Old Watchouse, it’s a perfect location, wonderful view & very comfortable property with everything we could need. We loved it (so did the other family) and would definitely recommend the property and return again ourselves.


Stunning home from home

23 September 2017 Beverley G

After a minor hiccup with the cleaners when we arrived and a quick phone call to Lou who immediately sorted the problem, we had the most amazing time at The Old Watch House. We arrived in the evening and were immediately wowed by the cleanliness and tasteful interior of the house... from the ultra modern kitchen and all its appliances to the luxurious bedrooms, bathrooms, bed linens, towels, sofa’s tv’s... I could go on. As we’d arrived in the dark, we retired to bed with a sense of excitement at the outside view that lay ahead in the morning.... we were not disappointed. The view was stunning and the sound of the lapping water outside the open lounge doors whilst having breakfast was so relaxing. It’s still very much a working estuary and we were fascinated all week by the comings and goings of all manner of vessels from luxurious yachts coming in to moor, to large container ships going to the China clay works further up the estuary... every day was different. The gardens have been well thought out with various seating areas, all with terrific views but best of all, is the most idyllic summer house/extra accommodation which has been decorated to match the high standard to that of the house... it even has its own kitchen and log burner. The Old Watch House is tucked away in a very quiet exclusive spot in Polruan and the walk down to the foot ferry is a gentle 10 minute walk... our little Jack Russell who we took with us loved his daily walks there. If there is a downside to this place it is parking. Parking spaces with a house is a rarety in Polruan but we did get a parking permit included in the weekly cost which allowed 1 car to park free of charge up at St Saviours car park on top of the hill, so on days when we wanted to venture out it would mean a steep walk up the hill to get to the car. However, this didn’t put us off, as the position of the house far out weighed this... in any case, the walk did us good after all the lovely lunches and evening meals we’d had in the week. All in all a stunning luxurious house well worth a visit... we’ll definitely be back.


Superb property with stunning views

16 September 2017 John W

Great location with absolutely stunning views. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds - will be revisiting in the future and recommending to friends


Wonderful house over looking the harbour

27 May 2017 5 Stars awarded

We hired the whole property and it is very luxurious, with beautiful view, furniture linens and rooms. After unloading the car and driving back up the steep hill to the town car park, the rest of the family walked down the hill to the house. No car access within 100 yards. It is set into the hill and accessed via beautiful courtyard. The annexe leading off from here, with its own bedroom, kitchen sitting area and bathroom. Entering the house into the hall are 2 beautiful ensuite double bedrooms, with stunning views. Down stairs into the open plan living dining and kitchen area. The master bedroom, dressing and ensuite located off here. The house is very high tec, with lots of gadgets. Extremely well thought out. Watching the world go by from any area is stunning. We hired the boat for the week and left it at the pontoon as easier to load from there. Polruan is very quiet with 2 good pubs a cafe and a few shops. Fowey is bustling and worth a visit. Were lucky enough to see the cruise ship come into the harbour. Reaching Polruan is through a lot of narrow roads, unless that was my sat nav! Downside was not suitable at all for mobility issues. Would stay again.


Lovely position and immaculate house.

22 Apr 2017 5 Stars awarded

Very well organised excellent service. Can’t fault it strongly recommended


Stunning property, exquisite location, high spec

28 Oct 2016 5 Stars awarded

Per the statement in the title field, the Old Watch House is simply stunning; both in terms of it's location and high interior spec. We were celebrating my mother's 80th and this proved to be an exceptional choice, which delighted the whole family . Hire a boat to potter around the harbour, as we did, and then treat yourself to supper at the Lugger Inn. Heaven all within a matter of 5 minutes walk. Highly recommend this property!


Overwhelmed by the property and its views

7th October 2016 - Julianne W

We came here for a relaxing weekend with friends and were overwhelmed by the property and its views. It was everything and more than the website described


Lovely property in the most perfect setting

17 Sep 2016 5 Stars awarded

A brilliant property in a perfect waterside location.The property exceeded expectations , was well maintained and spotlessly clean. We couldnt ask for a better location , great local pubs and such a variety available just a short ferry ride away. Hired a boat for the middle week and cant recommend that enough. overall a great place to relax and unwind.


Beautiful view of Fowey Harbour

27 Aug 2016 5 Stars awarded

We enjoyed Fowey Regatta week at The Old Watch House with fantastic views of the harbour. We moored our small boat outside the property with easy access from the rear steps. The property was modern, clean and tidy with well appointed furnishings. The ferry to Fowey is a short walk from the house. I would highly recommend the property.


Lovely property in the most perfect setting

17th September 2016 - Andrew P

Brilliant property in a perfect waterside location.The property exceeded expectations , was well maintained and spotlessly clean. We couldnt ask for a better location , great local pubs and such a variety available just a short ferry ride away. Hired a boat for the middle week and cant recommend that enough. overall a great place to relax and unwind.


Beautiful views of Fowey harbour

27 August 2016 - John S

We enjoyed Fowey Regatta week at The Old Watch House with fantastic views of the harbour. We moored our small boat outside the property with easy access from the rear steps. The property was modern, clean and tidy with well appointed furnishings. The ferry to Fowey is a short walk from the house. I would highly recommend the property.


Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram